What people are saying...

 

Dominion Post rated us four stars! 

 by David Burton Dompost March 2013

READ IT HERE

Fish Head Magazine rated us with
four stars! 

Fish Head Issue, January 2013

 

Cuisine magazine 
rated us with

four Stars!
Cuisine Issue, November 2012
READ THE REVIEW

Reviews

 

27th February, 2014

"I was very happy with my experience here. The food was very delicious. This place had a great atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff, very prompt with bringing our meals out. Loved the interior, it felt very authentic. We ordered just a few tapas to share, very bold flavours, and we felt full at the end! Will definitely return to try something else on their menu."

 

14th January, 2014

"My family and I were searching for a good restaurant to have dinner. It was a Friday night and it was really buzzing along Cuba Street. After seeing that many of the restaurants were quite full, we thought that we had better hurry up and find some place to eat. We looked through the window…walked in and were seated quickly. Love the wood burning smell and the atmosphere was great. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient. We had a long wait so our friendly waiter gave us some delicious olives to eat! We will visit again."

 

29th of April 2013

Anytime my mother comes to visit she wants to go somewhere new and trendy so I took her to El Matador, along with my sister and my father on Saturday night.

El Matador did not disappoint. Everything was amazing. We are country people who know a lot about what to do with unusual cuts of meat, so we were very impressed with the beef shin. The mixed platter for two, along with plenty of sides, fed all four of us handsomely. The broad beans and the patatas bravas were especially good. I would also recommend the flan and the churros for dessert. Our waiters were knowledgeable and charming.

El Matador was also good value for money. Our meal and drinks for four cost around $200.


2nd of March 2013
"Dined here twice this week. Had tapas for dinner and thought the food was great and the service excellent, very helpful staff. As it was a lovely evening in Wellington sat in the outside area, although the decor isn’t pretty it, it proved an excellent talking point. Went back for Saturday lunch, once again chose to sit outside and it was very sheltered and warm. This time had main courses, once again tasty dishes and service was again perfect, both the young lady and the gentleman very friendly. Would definitely return again."​

 

20th of January 2013

"Went here last night to use the entertainment voucher and also because my partner could not resist a place that boasted a “mixed meat platter for two”. We were certainly not disappointed – the tapas plates were fantastic (my favourite was the chipotle octopus dish!) and the meat platter was excellent. Really good value and the chef clearly knows a thing or two about meat. Everything was cooked to perfection and tasted delicious! We will definitely be back."

13th October 2012

                   "I am rating El Matador 5 stars because the tapas were absolutely  delicious! I am salivating just thinking about it. We ordered about 3 tapas per person but all shared, and there was plenty for everyone. They had run out of the leg of lamb and the single portion of lamb, but it didn’t matter as there was so many delicious things to choose from, and it is good to know they are getting their meat so fresh that they run out. Will be going back as much as possible!! Yum!"  

 

READ MORE REVIEWS FROM MENUMANIA

​January 20, 2013

"Just wanted to thank you for the fantastic meal last night - the shared mixed meat platter and the octopus tapas were amazing (in fact, everything was, but they were our favourites!). It was our first time at El Matador, but we will be back!"

October 21, 2012

 "Dinner on Friday was the best start ever to a long weekend, highly recommend the food, the staff, the wine list, and last but certainly not least, the dulce de leche"

 

August 19, 2012

"Fabulous meal last night. Thanks for accommodating 12 of us when we breezed in."

July 2, 2012

"mmmm, just came back from a great meal at El Matador, the fugazza and the provolone tapas were amazing!!! Que bueno!!!"

Facebook Reviews

Copyright El Matador 2011 Limited

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Twitter Square
  • Instagram App Icon